Ulta Haul + Quick First Impressions

I couldn’t resist a trip to Ulta this past Sunday since Maybelline, Almay, Revlon, and Physician’s Formula were 40% off. I also found out that red tag clearance items were an additional 50% off April 11-12. Sadly NYX wasn’t included in the 40% off sale, otherwise my haul would have been a lot bigger hehe. 

What I Got & First Impressions

Rimmel Scandaleyes Eyeshadow Paints “Manganese Purple”,”Beige”,”Berry Chrome”,”Peachy Apricot”, “Pomegranate”:These were on clearance and with the additional 50% off they were 65 cents each! Can’t say no to that! These are liquid eyeshadows with a doe foot applicator. They swatch beautifully but actually sheer out quite a bit when blended, so I’ll have to see if I’m able to build these up on my lids without creasing, or if they are better off as eyeshadow bases. I really like the rose gold shade Peachy Apricot, and the berry shades Berry Chrome and Pomegranate. I’m not sure if these are being discontinued maybe? I thought they were relatively new.

NYX Baked Shadow “Sugar Babe”: Another clearance item, which came out to 75 cents. I loved the pinky fuschia color, but unfortunately this doesn’t swatch well dry. I’ll have to try it wet or with a base underneath.

NYX Loose Pearl Powder “Yellow Gold”: This was on clearance and came out to 47 cents. I’ve always wanted to try the NYX loose shadows so I thought this would be a great chance to see whether it would be worth buying other shades. The name describes the shade perfectly-it’s a shimmery yellow gold.The packaging is pretty tiny and it’s hard to get the shadow out because the opening is very small. Only a very small shadow brush would be able to fit through it. The color itself is super pretty and shimmery. It takes a bit of layering to get it to its true color.

Maybelline Brow Precise “Soft Brown”: This is a re-purchase, but I think they may have changed the name of it so I hope the product is still the same. I like how natural this brow pencil looks and how easy and fast it is to use.

Essence Lip Liner “Red Blush”: My fellow bloggers on WordPress have said amazing things about these lip liners, so I decided to try one. I got this red because I was in need of a dark red lip liner, since the ones I have are brighter and more orange toned. It does feel very creamy and pigmented upon first swatch.

Rimmel Exaggerate Eyeliner “Purple Shock”– On clearance, it came out to 75 cents. I thought this purple shade would be perfect for spring. I don’t really have any eyeliner colors besides black and brown, so I thought its time I start using some colorful eyeliner shades. This eyeliner felt very creamy and pigmented when I swatched it, and it was a little hard to remove from my hand so I think it will be long-wearing.

Maybelline Fit Me Concealer “Light”: Another well loved product in the beauty world, yet I’ve never tried it before. It does feel very creamy and the coverage is decent. I think I will exchange it for the shade Fair because Light is a perfect match to my skin, and I was hoping it would be lighter for a brightening effect.

Maybelline Fit Me Foundation Stick 340 “Cappucino”: I’ve read that some beauty gurus and bloggers use these foundation sticks in a darker shade for contouring, so I bought one of these to try that out. I picked a bad shade for contouring, as it’s very orange on me. Has anyone used these for contouring and can recommend a better shade for me to try? That would be so helpful! Otherwise I may end up returning it.

Almay Eye Makeup Remover Pads: This is another repurchase. They are oil based pads and I like to use them for my stubborn eye makeup. I really only need one for both eyes since they are pretty saturated. I do have to go back with a non-oil eye makeup remover since it leaves behind a lot of oil around my eyes.

Swatches

Top Row L to R: Rimmel Eyeshadow Paints Manganese Purple, Pomegranate, Berry Chrome, Peachy Apricot, Beige, NYX Yellow Gold, NYX Sugar Babe Bottom Row L to R: Rimmel eyeliner Purple Shock, Essence lip liner Red Blush, Maybelline Fit Me Concealer Light, Maybelline Fit Me Foundation Stick Cappuccino

Rimmel Eyeshadow Paint Berry Chrome lightly blended out

Photo cred: ulta.com

I was pretty bummed that NYX wasn’t on sale as well, since I was majorly looking forward to buying several things. I was most looking forward to buying the NYX Highlight and Contour Pro Palette, and the Ulta I was at was out of it. So my patience gave out and I went ahead and ordered it online. I can’t wait til I get it! 🙂

If you are interested in the 40% off sale, it goes through Saturday 4/18. Did any of you already indulge in the sale? Let me know what you got! Also, please let me know if there is anything you would like to see a full review on or a look with?

Much love, Sandy ❤

25 thoughts on “Ulta Haul + Quick First Impressions

  1. I had to take advantage of this sale too! 🙂 Looks like you got a lot of great stuff! I have used the Almay makeup remover pads before and I really liked them! I should buy them again lol.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. 65 cents each for those eyeshadow paints? WOW. I might have broken my No-Buy for those, seriously.
    It’s incredible to me that drugstores can sell makeup products for less than a dollar in the US. I never see that here in Canada – best case is $1 here.
    Nice haul!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

