Ulta and Walgreens Haul

IMG_1092

IMG_1091

Left: Jordana Modern Matte 09 Matte Dare, Right: Rimmel Show Off Lip Velvet 307 Metoric Matte

Hello my pretties! I picked up a few new items last week at Ulta and Walgreens. At Walgreens I got a Jordana Modern Matte Lipstick in the shade 09 Matte Dare ($2.49) and a Rimmel Show Off Lip Velvet in the shade 307 Meteoric Matte ($4.79). Both are new to the drugstore. Can you tell I have a thing for berry shade lippies? šŸ™‚

FirstĀ Impressions on the lippies: There was a nice shade rangeĀ of the Jordana Modern Matte lipsticks, and while I like the shade I got IĀ really hadĀ to build up the color and it kind of dragged on my lips when IĀ applied it. It has sort of a weird texture, more waxy than what I am used to. I guess for the price it’s not bad, but I won’t be buying more of these. I think the Wet n’ Wild matte lipsticks for $1.99 are way better. The Rimmel Show Off lip velvet feels nice on my lips and has great pigmentation but it takes forever to dry down matte and it has poor lasting power. I found the original Rimmel Show Off lip lacquers from last year had the same wear problem. I wouldn’t buy more colors of the Show Off Lip Velvets either.

At Ulta I picked up the new Tartelette palette by Tarte and the Real Techniques expert face brush. I had been debating awhile on whether I should get the Tartelette palette or the Too Faced Semi-Sweet Chocolate Bar palette, and I finally decided on the Tartelette palette since I didn’tĀ have an all matte eyeshadow palette. I had a gift card, a 20% off coupon (included prestige brands) and I used up some of my Ulta Reward points, so I didn’t end up spending much of my own money (hooray!). The Real Techniques brush I have been wanting for awhile and I finally picked it up. I think it would be nice for blending foundation or even for a contour.

I also had a coupon for a free Ulta eyeshadow palette as a birthday reward. My birthday was in December so I was definitely late in using it…I just kept forgetting about it! I haven’t swatched the shadows yet, but hey, can’t say no to free makeup!

That’s it friends, my little haul! I’m beyond excited about the Tartelette palette šŸ™‚ I think it will be a great addition to my eyeshadow collection.

Have you tried any of these products? What are your thoughts?

Thanks for reading!

-Sandy

6 thoughts on “Ulta and Walgreens Haul

  1. Can’t wait to hear what you think of the Tartelette šŸ™‚ I loved it. At first some of the shadows were uneven, but if you just swirl them around a bit and swatch them a time or two that goes away.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

