First Impression Review: Maybelline Fit Me Matte + Poreless Foundation

Hello loves! Today I’d like to share with you my first impression on the Maybelline Fit Me Matte + Poreless foundation, which is targeted to Normal or Oily skin. This is my first product from the Fit Me line. I got the shade 120 Classic Ivory at Target for $6.99. There are 12 shades total to pick from. The display at my Target only had the lightest shade (110 Porcelain) and 120 Classic Ivory as the lightest shades to pick from, so I went with the darker of the two. I didn’t know there should have been two more shades in between the two according to their website, but luckily Classic Ivory turned out to be a decent match for me. It’s definitely a warm color, and although it looked a tad dark for me when swatched it was a great match once applied on my face.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c94/81094031/files/2015/01/img_0948.jpg

120 Classic Ivory Left: Un-blended swatch Right: Blended swatch

The claims according to the bottle: “Mattifies and refines pores”, “Matches natural tone”, “Natural seamless finish”

According to the Maybelline website: “While some foundations can exaggerate pores and oily skin, only our pore-minimizing foundation contains our genius blurring micro-powders that erase pores and absorb oil for a naturally matte and poreless-looking finish. Dermatologist and allergy tested. Does not clog pores. Oil-free.”

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c94/81094031/files/2015/01/img_0944.png

Left: Bare face Right: Maybelline Matte + Poreless Foundation shade 120 Classic Ivory (Both flash)

My skin type: I have combo/oily skin. My t-zone gets crazy oily, while the area around my jawline is sensitive and dry. I have acne marks on my forhead and lots of redness around my cheeks and jawline.

Packaging: The foundation comes in a glass bottle with a screw on cap. Not the most ideal packaging (pumps and squeeze tubes are much preferred), but I can deal with it.

Foundation texture: The foundation itself is a good consistency-not too liquid-y and not too thick. I didn’t have a problem getting it to pour out of the bottle.

Application: I poured a little into my fingers and then applied it to my face, blending lightly. I used my Sigma F80 brush to blend further and buff out any streaks. It blended out really easily, and felt really silky and velvety on my skin. It dried down to a powder finish. It didn’t accentuate any of the dry areas on my jawline.

Coverage: The first layer gave me medium coverage. The redness in my problems areas (forehead, cheeks, jawline) were pretty much gone, but I dabbed a little more on those areas anyway for extra coverage. It seemed to build ok and did not get cakey at all.

Finish: It does have a matte finish, but I don’t think it made my face look dry or powdery. It felt lightweight on my skin and looked natural.

Wear: The foundation wore really nicely and I found it to be long-lasting. I used a primer beforehand and set it with powder around on my t-zone. My nose started to get noticeably oily after 5 hours of wearing it, while my forehead only showed some breakthrough shine at that point. I didn’t blot so I could see the results at the end of my day. After 8.5 hours of wear, my forehead was shiny and my nose was even shinier. The rest of my foundation was still in place however.

Oil control: I think this foundation had pretty good oil control, and that’s probably because it dried down to a powder. I have the best luck using powder foundations to control my oily t-zone, and this foundation gave me the second best results compared to that.

Does it live up to its claims? I can’t say I noticed any significant pore-blurring effects with this foundation, but I do agree that it mattified, matched my natural tone, and had a natural seamless finish. It did help absorb oil but did not keep me from becoming oily in my t-zone throughout the day (not much does though).

Overall, I really like this foundation. It is supposed to be oil-free and claims not to clog pores, and I didn’t notice any breakouts after wearing it. But, I think I would have to wear it a few more times to really tell if it causes breakouts. After using it once, I already like it way better than the Covergirl Ready Set Gorgeous Foundation that I tried recently, which I reviewed here. The Maybelline foundation blended much easier and had better oil control, and looked more natural on my skin. I can’t think of many cons about this foundation besides its packaging.

Quick Overview

Pros: Natural finish, dries down to a powder, feels velvety on the skin, blends out easily, reasonably priced

Cons: Packaging(have to pour it out as opposed to a pump or squeeze tube), no SPF

So there you have it! Have you tried the Maybelline Fit Me Matte + Poreless foundation? Do you have any favorites from the Fit Me line? Let me know in the comments!

Thanks for reading!

-S

5 thoughts on “First Impression Review: Maybelline Fit Me Matte + Poreless Foundation

  1. Pingback: January Favorites | Lippie Obsession

  2. What a great review! I’ve been on the fence about trying but I think I’ll pick up a bottle and give it a whirl! I get so hesitant when it comes to drugstore foundation: too many fails for me lol. But I really enjoyed the in depth of this post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Honestly this has been my favorite foundation since I got it. If you get it I hope it works out for you! 🙂 haha yeah foundations can definitely be hit or miss depending on your skin type.

      Like

Leave a Reply

