Review: Maybelline Dream Pure BB

I had been wanting the Maybelline Dream Pure BB cream for awhile now- Lizzy of WhatWouldLizzyDo on Youtube always raved about it, so I finally broke down and bought it. I’ve seen it run from $8-9 at drugstores and Target, but I got mine off Amazon for around $6 and I’m sure it’s cheaper at Walmart. There are four shades available-Light, Light/Medium, Medium, and Medium/Deep. It contains 2% salicylic acid for combating acne. It is described as an 8-in-1 Beauty Balm and thus has 8 claims: 1) Clears acne 2) Conceals imperfections 3) Minimizes look of pores 4) Reduces appearance of redness 5) Adjusts to skin tone 6) Hydrates and smooths 7) Enhances and clarifies 8) 0% oils and lightweight feel

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c94/81094031/files/2014/12/img_0873.png

                         Top right: Lightly blended Bottom right: Fully blended

Does it live up to its claims? Let’s find out!

I can’t attest to claims 1 and 7 relating to its skin clearing abilities since I’ve only used it a few times so far. However, since it contains salicylic acid that’s a good sign that it may help control acne. I really like that since I have oily/combo skin and am prone to bad breakouts on my forehead, so anything that may help that is a plus for me.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c94/81094031/files/2014/12/img_0872.png

                Left: bare face                                        Right: Maybelline Dream Pure BB (light)

The BB cream has light coverage and blended easily into my skin. I got the shade Light, and it matched fairly well to my skin tone. I applied it with my fingers and it blended seamlessly without much effort.The first layer helped to even out my skin tone. I went back and added some more around my cheeks, forehead, and dark circles (where I have the most issues to cover), and it did improve the coverage. I was impressed with how natural the BB cream looked on my skn. My skin looked better yet it didn’t really look like I was wearing makeup. The BB cream felt lightweight and gave my skin a natural glow. My pores were less visible and my skin felt hydrated.

After about 4 hours of wearing it I noticed I was getting shiny in my t-zone, but that’s typical for me with any type of liquid foundation/BB cream. I just blotted at that point, and it was fine-it didn’t seem to transfer much either. By the end of the day,(~8 hours) the BB cream had started to pill up on my forehead due to the oils, and it had faded around my nose area.

So overall, do I like it? Yes! I feel like I didn’t disagree with any of the claims it made, although like I said I can’t really say if it prevents or treats acne since I haven’t used it enough times. I think it’s great for everyday wear,especially if you want something that’s no fuss and quick to apply. Some of the cons I can think of are that it doesn’t contain SPF, there’s a limited shade selection, and I think the price point ($8-9 at Target, CVS, Walgreens) is high for drugstore for the amount of coverage you’re getting. Still, I think it’s a good product-if you’re looking for something that is fast to apply and you’re okay with light coverage, I would recommend it. The only other BB cream I’ve tried from the drugstore is the Garnier one for oily/combo skin, and I like the Maybelline one much better. I have the lightest shade of the Garnier BB cream, and it’s still too dark/orange on me, plus it transfers and wears off quickly. It also has a makeup-y look on my skin.

Have you tried the Maybelline Dream Pure BB cream? What’s your favorite BB cream?

Thanks for reading! And also, HAPPY NEW YEAR! I hope your year is off to a good start! =)

-S

Leave a Reply

