Covergirl Ready Set Gorgeous Foundation Review

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c94/81094031/files/2014/12/img_0834.jpg

Hi everyone! I picked up Covergirl Ready Set Gorgeous foundation at Target for $6.99. I think I’ve seen it at drugstores and Ulta for a couple dollars more, so if you decide to try it I would check out Target first. I got the shade 115 buff beige, and I think it ended up being just a bit light for me, but it wasn’t noticeable after using bronzer. The last Covergirl foundation I bought was the 3 in 1 Stay Fabulous, and unfortunately that oxidized on me. I would rather have the shade be a little light than make my face look orange haha. The shade 115 looked like it was neutral while the shade 110 looked like it was a similar shade but on the warmer side, so to avoid potentially looking orange again I went with 115. It always throws me off when the next shade down or up isn’t necessarily lighter or darker but just a different tone. I like how L’oreal separates their foundation shades into warm, cool, and neutral.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c94/81094031/files/2014/12/img_0843.png

Covergirl Ready Set Gorgeous shade 115 Buff beige foundation swatch (left-no flash, right-flash)

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c94/81094031/files/2014/12/img_0842.png

Foundation blended (left-no flash, right-flash)

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c94/81094031/files/2014/12/img_0832.png

Left: Bare face Right: Covergirl Ready Set Gorgeous (both flash)

Ok, let’s talk about how the foundation performed. It has a semi-matte finish with medium but buildable coverage, and no oxidation occurred. The foundation is oil-free and claims to “blend easily to even skin tone and reduces shine all day”. The other claims were that it “won’t clog pores”, “suitable for sensitive skin”, and “lasts all day”. In the bare faced picture (ahh look away!) you can see I’m not dealing with any major breakouts right now but I have redness around my cheeks and jawline, dark circles, and old acne marks. With the Covergirl foundation, most of the redness is gone but the dark circles and some of the bad acne marks were still visible. I went back over these areas with a little extra foundation where there was still redness, and it did build pretty nicely for more coverage. I dabbed the foundation around my face and blended a bit with my fingers, then went back in to buff with my Sigma F80 brush to get an even coverage. I will say I found the foundation a little hard to blend. It’s not very thick or dry by any means but next time I would use a damp sponge or beauty blender to more easily blend it out.

I have combo/oily skin, and I get horribly oily throughout the day in my t-zone. So I did use primer and setting powder focused mainly on my t-zone, because no matter what liquid foundation I use I get breakthrough shine in that area. I started to see some shininess around 4 hours in, but it wasn’t major.  The foundation did last all day, and I think it controlled oil better than a lot of liquid foundations I have used. One thing I noticed was that in the flash photo, the foundation looked a little white to me compared to what it looked like in real life. I realized the shade was a little light for me but not enough to look that white in the photo. The foundation doesn’t say it contains SPF anywhere on the bottle BUT at the end of the ingredient list, it says “May contain: Titanium dioxide, iron oxides”. DUN DUN DUN. So I wonder if that’s what gave it the white cast…or I’m just crazy haha.

Overall, I think this is a nice foundation. I like that it comes in a squeeze bottle so you can use however much you want. It has decent coverage, lasted all day, and did help to control the oiliness in my t-zone. I also did not notice any breakouts after using the foundation. Most of the claims of the foundation turned out to be fairly true in my experience.

Have you tried the Covergirl Ready Set Gorgeous foundation? What did you think? If you have oily skin, what are some your favorite foundations to control shine?

Thanks for reading, happy Friday!

5 thoughts on “Covergirl Ready Set Gorgeous Foundation Review

  1. Pingback: First Impression Review: Maybelline Fit Me Matte + Poreless Foundation | Lippie Obsession

Leave a Reply

